Skip to content

Expecting

August 15, 2011

We sat in the floor in the hallway outside the only bathroom in our apartment, me leaning against the frame of the door, Eduardo with his back against the linen closet. Elisio was standing, leaning over me, watching the stick I’d just peed on.

“One more minute,” I said. My legs were crossed yoga-style, and my left arm was resting on my knee. Eduardo’s feet were out in front of him, reaching almost all the way across the hardwood floor across the thin strip of granite to the cracked white tiles. Elisio kept jumping over his legs to get to mine, hoping to get a better view.

“Okay,” I said. “Come tell me what it says.”

“Y – E – S.” Not quite four years old, my son spelled out the letters on the pregnancy test and was thus the first among us to know that mini-Moncada number two was on the way.

He jumped into my lap and threw his arms around my neck.

“We still have to go to the doctor to be sure,” I said between the kisses he was planting all over my face. They suddenly stopped and his eyes filled with tears.

“What is it?” Eduardo asked.

Elisio just rubbed his eyes and sat down.

“Is it because we’re not sure?” I asked.

Elisio nodded.

“Come here, buddy,” Eduardo said, his arms out and his feet crossing into an embrace that would involve his legs too. “We’re pretty sure,” he said, and Elisio’s happiness began to return.

By now, of course, we’re sure. Just today, my belly button began the achy temporary transformation to an outie, and it has been several weeks since I last had to stand in a crowded subway car. Last month I was put on the list of those needing support for my “disability” during the fire drill from our 20th floor office.

We know now that the little being whose kicks both Eduardo and Elisio are now able to feel when they put their hands on my belly is Elisio’s little sister. Her room in our new house is set up with his old crib, and we’ve moved beyond calling her Meatball to testing actual names until one of them sticks. At my next doctor appointment next Friday we’ll set the date for the c-section – sometime in the week between my mother-in-law’s birthday and mine – that will bring her into our lives.

So much of the last year – the last decade in many ways – has been about expecting. Tonight, as my daughter turns flips inside me, I lie in bed and mark just over a month in the home where my sweet, brilliant husband and I will raise her. This afternoon an official offer letter arrived in my inbox for the position that I’ve worked toward not just since I my contract role began a few months ago, but since I packed up my little Subaru wagon and headed down I-95 to graduate school in Miami 10 years ago.

It seems that life has said “Y-E-S” to all we’ve been expecting. I humbly give thanks.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2011 5:01 am

    Eloquently written, as usual. Angie. And congrats on the new little one arriving soon!!

  2. August 16, 2011 9:34 am

    Angie –

    I’m SOOOOOO happy for all of you – on all counts, but especially for Elisio’s sister! Congratulations!

    Jason

  3. Tiffany permalink
    August 16, 2011 12:41 pm

    I have been waiting for you to update your blog for a few months now! What a reward for my diligence in returning every couple of weeks. Congratulations to all of you!! Big Brothers+Little Sister = never a dull moment!

  4. August 18, 2011 2:25 pm

    Big Papa is so proud of all of you. maybe I can come up there for the birth.

  5. David Fields permalink
    August 19, 2011 7:59 pm

    Congrats!!!

Leave a Reply

